As the parent or guardian, you must notify the superintendent of the public school district where your family resides about your intention to homeschool your school-age child or children. Ohio law requires all children between six and 18 years old to attend school. Notification must be received no later than the first week of the start of the District's classes, within one week of the date the child begins to reside in the District, or within one week from the child's withdrawal from a school. Failure to notify the school district of residence the family is homeschooling its child or children will result in truancy. The notification to the school district must include the following:
1. Your qualifications to homeschool (see above list of requirements)
- Confirmation that you will provide a minimum of 900 hours of instruction that must include the following subjects:
Language, reading, spelling, and writing;
- Geography; history of the United States and Ohio; and national, state, and local government;
- Physical education;
- Fine arts, including music; and
- First aid, safety, and fire prevention;
2. A brief outline of the curriculum for the current school year;
3. A list of textbooks, correspondence courses, commercial curricula, or other basic teaching materials you plan to use; and
4. Your signature.
A sample notification form is provided to the right.
Please email the above-listed information to [email protected]. Feel free to call us at 614-491-8288 with any questions.